PDA

View Full Version : 30-30 Marlin 336 lever closing difficulty?

NLS1
08-24-2013, 02:47 PM
Hey Folks!

After a very fun time out on Thursday shooting 10gr Unique loads in the old 30-30 I have a question.

First the background. 1949 Marlin 336, great bore, well used, a bit ugly-but tough- kinda like me, shoots better than me, and I love it.

It was my first time reloading for 30-30. I used some of my recently cast NOE 165gc from 50/50 with a pinch of lino, 173gr with homemade lube and aluminum gc from 338 Ultramag. Sized .311. Brass trimmed to 2.025. Boolits seated to cannelure. Wolf LR primers. RCBS FL dies.

Well I am no expert iron sight rifle shooter, but this thing was so much fun, I may never want to shoot anything else for rifle hunting. 8" plates from 25-100, standing, with irons no problem every time! Plus you could shoot it all day with those loads, and ZERO leading!

I had 45 rounds loaded up, and probably about 15 of them were pretty tough to close the lever on. Some of the ones that were difficult to close were engraving the rifling on the boolit, and some were not.

What have I done wrong? Did I not size the case right? Or is the boolit just fatter at the front than what the throat is made for? Or was the gas check or boolit too fat and making the brass too tight in the chamber? Did I not crimp enough? I didn't see any marking on the brass. Should I trim the brass shorter to keep the cannelure in the right spot and account for a narrow throat? All of them extracted easily with no signs of pressure and they were all accurate enough to hit the 8" plate easily while standing with iron sights. I didn't shoot for groups, just Minute-of-Deer-Vitals!

Thanks for the help!!!

Dan

YunGun
08-24-2013, 03:53 PM