PDA

View Full Version : Bucket of 45 ACP Brass

Boyscout
08-14-2013, 08:43 PM
I've been collecting 45 ACP brass since 1983 and I decided to sort by headstamp for processing. I had 32 lbs of empty cartridges or an estimated 2645 pieces of 45 ACP Brass. I found two military headstamps with 42 and 43 on them. My top three by volume were Winchester, Sellior & Belloit, and Federal. The weights of my sample set ranged from 80.9 gns-87.3 gns. I will lose a few after cleaning but I think it should keep me busy awhile.

I don't hoard anything else except brass. I just can't leave a piece of boxer primed brass on the ground.

historicfirearms
08-14-2013, 08:55 PM
Nice stockpile. That should keep you busy a while. I too am a brass fiend, sometimes I spend more time looking for that last casing in the grass than I probably should.

ReloaderFred
08-14-2013, 11:58 PM
I recently bought some lead from a guy who made a purchase at an "end of life sale" (estate sale). When he delivered the lead, he said I also had to take the brass, which of course I agreed to. There were 18 coffee cans of once fired .45 acp brass, 4 coffee cans of once fired .38 Spl. brass, and 3 coffee cans of primed .38 Spl. brass. I got about 200 pounds of lead for $100.00, and the brass was free. Oh, and there were miscellaneous jacketed bullets and primers in another box that amounted to about another 40 pounds of "stuff". I didn't even know Herters primers were made in Japan, but I now have a brick of them with "Made in Japan" printed in bold letters.....

Hope this helps.

Fred

junkpile
08-15-2013, 12:08 AM
I have 2 boys. One of them is almost 4 years old now. I take him with me to the range to "give the wife a break". I think we spend more time looking for brass and lead than shooting, but he loves it. He knows the difference between brass, steel, and aluminum casings. And we had a good discussion on the difference between bullets and boolits. He's gotten pretty good at pointing out the difference.