PDA

View Full Version : finished my smelting pot

shaper
08-08-2013, 09:14 PM
I found a propane tank at the recycle center that had been cut in half. I added some handles by drilling holes through the sides, made the handles, then pushed them through the holes and welded on both sides of the pot. I bought a turkey cooker burner for $15. at a flea market and put a heavy grill on it. Then I built two ingot moldes out of some heavy L angles. the new ingots will be 5 1/8 inches long each so I can put some in a box and send to some new friends. So for less than $25. I'm ready to melt some heavy blocks of lead. In the picture everything on and around is soft lead. The roll on top of the pot is 40 pounds of sheet lead.
This is my first attempt at uploading a picture so if it dosen't come up I'll get some help later.

Echo
08-09-2013, 12:26 PM
Good looking rig.

shadowcaster
08-09-2013, 01:07 PM
HAPPY SMELTING! :awesome:

Shad

Springfield
08-09-2013, 03:10 PM
Now you just need to put an auto oil drip pan underneath it all to catch the drips and keep your concrete clean. The lead just falls off the pan, unlike using plywood.

BK7saum
08-09-2013, 03:11 PM
One thing that will help you heat quicker and conserve propane is to construct a shield around the pot that all extends below the pot. The shield will catch the heat and keep it next to the pot, also heating the sides.

shaper
08-10-2013, 11:27 PM
I do some sheet metal work, so I have a lot of it laying around. I have three smaller pieces that I put around the set up to help in diverting the wind as I do my smelting out doors

detox
08-11-2013, 09:18 PM
I do some sheet metal work, so I have a lot of it laying around. I have three smaller pieces that I put around the set up to help in diverting the wind as I do my smelting out doors

You can cut shroud from other half of pot...if you know where it is?

Vinne
08-11-2013, 10:21 PM
You're with the big boys now!!!

shaper
08-11-2013, 10:58 PM