PDA

View Full Version : new and questions on w/w

iron mule
10-13-2007, 10:10 AM
hello to all i am new to all of this and have some questions about the use of wheel weights as a source of casting metal // what is the hardness of them // anything special i need to do/// can i add pure lead to them to make them softer if needed/// also any other hints you all would like to hand out to a tinhorn will be helpfull//// the bullets i want to cast will be used for cowboy shooting and also some for 45-70 and 38-55 mostly for hunting some mid range target shooting//thanks----mule

targetshootr
10-13-2007, 10:53 AM
Straight wheel weights are around 12 bhn but no one thread could contain everything you need to know. Might use the search feature to find some good threads from the past.

Buckshot
10-13-2007, 11:23 AM
................Whell weights have 2 things going for them. One is that they are (or used to be moreso) cheap and easy to find. Secondly they will generally cast a fine pistol or rifle boolit just as they are. For pistol with a GC you can go pretty fast. For rifles Ww's will take you to at least mid-velocitiy area. Say maybe 1800 fps. Both will naturally depend on firearm condition and the correct load for the alloy.

Yes you can add lead to soften it. You can add linotype to harden it, or you can water drop (WD) to harden, or heat treat in an oven to even higher hardness. As targetshootr said, they run about 12 bhn. However, since there are not real guidlines for it's makeup other then it's supposed to weigh somewhat close to what's cast on it for weight, they can vary sometimes quite a bit. Old WW's up to the 1970's were a bit heavier in tin, and nowadays the tin content is scant.

If you're gonna cast, the secret is to glom onto all the lead of any description you can find. If you can't use it now someone will be sure to buy it from you later.

...............Buckshot

Pepe Ray
10-13-2007, 12:06 PM
As Buckshot said, Acquire all the lead you can find and hoard it.