PDA

View Full Version : I'm New ??? on Lee molds

dustinfamily
10-11-2007, 03:57 PM
I'm new to site but having bounced arround a bit. Is it the concensus that to get started casting I should purchase Lyman or RCBS molds rather than Lee? But if I do buy Lee only go with 6 cavity? looking for some pointers, Got a gun show next weekend hope to pick up a couple molds, Looking to cast for 40 S&W, 357/38, 44mag, 45ACP,and 454 casull. I don't know,could use some oppinions.

Thanks, Mark

nighthunter
10-11-2007, 04:39 PM
dustin ... there are good molds made by every company you mentioned. To get started I would suggest you start with a 2 cavity mold. The rate of production is fast enough and the control of the bullet production is much better and easier to learn with a 2 cavity than a 6 cavity. I've been casting for almost 40 years and I still do a lot of casting with 1 and 2 cavity molds.
Nighthunter

SharpsShooter
10-11-2007, 04:48 PM
Lyman & RCBS are good moulds typically and are usually less problem to get casting good boolits. Lee moulds are good also, but may require tweaking to get the best performance possible. So you have to decide if you want to spend $50 on a mould that works right out of the box or $20 for one that needs a bit of TLC. I have Lyman, RCBS, Rapine and Lee's. All work well once you get to know their individual quirks. Lee 6-cavity moulds are significantly better than their 1 or 2 cavity models generally speaking.

SS

dustinfamily
10-12-2007, 01:33 PM
Thanks for the advice I think two cav would be a bit easier to control starting out. Probably should invest a bit more and go with lyman or RCBS, I think it will pay off in the long run.
Thanks again,
Mark

wiljen
10-12-2007, 02:08 PM
Remember that lee 6 cav handles fit Lyman and RCBS 2 cav molds too and are generally cheaper than the Lymans. I have several Lyman molds wearing Lee handles, good cost compromise.

mooman76
10-12-2007, 02:13 PM