PDA

View Full Version : Newby needs pointing in the right direction....

ssn vet
10-11-2007, 01:47 PM
Greetings all,

I've been re-loading for some 9 months now and am already itching to go to the next level....casting.

I've surfed around the forum here for the better part of an afternoon and was hoping to find a sticky with 'must read' type articles for newbs like me....perhaps with equipment lists and tips. None to be found....:???:

Did I miss something? any links would be appreciated.

thanks in advance.....

one who seeks the way of the silver stream

montana_charlie
10-11-2007, 02:10 PM
Lyman sells an outfit they call their “Master Casting Kit’’. It includes all of the basic items needed...except a bullet mould. Even has the book that many have relied on to get going.

You could buy the kit.

Or...if you just check out what the items are in it...you will have a basic list to work from. Then you can choose something else to replace any particular item in the kit.

For instance, a cast iron skillet and large pile of wood COULD replace the elecrtic furnace.
Empty (and dry) pop cans CAN replace the ingot mould. It's best to avoid aluminum when choosing your main tools, although aluminum bullet moulds (and the pop cans) are OK.

If you go for the kit, read the book a few times. Then, after you have become so proficient that the kit is no longer satisfactory, you will probably already have ideas of 'what else' you prefer to have.

Even if you don't buy the kit...buy the book.

CM

45nut
10-11-2007, 02:32 PM
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/forumdisplay.php?f=35

there is the direction to look for LOTS of information such as you are looking for, I tried to select some basics and especially interesting threads in there.
Welcome to the forum.

Pat I.
10-11-2007, 03:16 PM