PDA

View Full Version : Accuracy help?

KYShooter73
07-31-2013, 12:46 PM
I'm shooting powder coated 9mm. I'm currently sizing at .356 with a lee push through. No leading, but my accuracy leaves something to be desired. I've searched, tried several things but I'm still at +2 inches not counting wild fliers vs jacketed at 20 yards. Using lee 356125, hollow pointed, in a m&p pro. I laddered my load from 3.9 to 4.9 of bullseye at .1 gn intervals with no measurable difference. Varied my crimp from heavy to just enough to close the bell...no change. I sized some to .356, then powder coated, leaving the boolit at .358. My barrel slugs at .3565. The .358 rounds will not fit the chamber. I have some plain base gas checks on the way to try. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Echo
07-31-2013, 12:58 PM
Have you slugged the bbl? 356 may be too small, and the powder coating (with which I have NO experience!) may be keeping the leading down, so the boolit rattles down the bore...
I tried some 9mm's in my Ruger Convertible, and could hardly keep them in the black at 25 yds. A 356 bullet in a 357 bore is not a good thing...

KYShooter73
07-31-2013, 01:26 PM
I should add that I'm seating to 1.061 (hollow point design) I may try it a little deeper with the .358 boolits tonight to see if that will chamber via a suggestion by pm.

dverna
07-31-2013, 02:32 PM
Look at the weight variation before PC'ing. Also, do commercial cast bullets shoot OK?

2" groups at 20 yards is not that terrible for a stock M&P.

Don Verna

fredj338
07-31-2013, 03:17 PM
Sometimes it's a size issue, sometimes it's a load issue. I had a BHP that would NOT shoot 125gr LRN w/ W231, 4" was about as good as it got. When I switched to Unique, magic, nice round sub 2" groups @ 25yds.

gray wolf
07-31-2013, 03:37 PM
.356 in a .3565 bore ????

KYShooter73
07-31-2013, 04:02 PM
.356 in a .3565 bore ????