PDA

View Full Version : Ruger Forum Sent Me....

steveo
07-23-2013, 10:18 PM
Hi All,

I've been reloading for about 20 years and now planning to get into casting my own Boolits,,, ya I know I spent way too much $ on projectiles.

I came here looking for information as well as any used casting equipment for sale.

Lee 10 but would prefer a 20 lb. furnace,
Lyman 45 or 450 Luber Sizer or RCBS Lube-a-matic

at this point I plan to start casting for .38 Sp./ .357 Mag. and .45 ACP so I will need a.358 and .452 sizing die's.

For the .38 I would love to find a mold for 148g. HBWC,, I don't know if there is such a mold,, if not I will be looking to cast WC.
For the .45 I plan to cast a 200g. SWC.

anyway I am glad to find your site (thanks to the great folks at Ruger Forum)

Thanks,

Steve

nagantguy
07-23-2013, 10:37 PM
Welcome steveo, you have come to the right place. Yes there are molds for 148 hbwc. And if its ever been made as far as casting, loading gear an tools you will be able to find it here. Make sure to vet a notebook there is so much info here you cannot hope to remember it all. Learned more here in a few months than years casting alone lost in the wilderness.

dbosman
07-23-2013, 11:22 PM
Welcome.
IF you put in the time, read the stickies (lots and lots and lots and lots..... of stickies) and use search, you will find more useful information here than you'd get in years of working at it yourself.

One hollow base wad cutter would be the Ideal #358395, but it's a single cavity and probably not readily available.

The better option would be a 4 Cavity Mihec 38 Brass Hollowbase Wadcutter
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?99991-4-Cavity-Mihec-38-Brass-Hollowbase-Wadcutter

JeffinNZ
07-23-2013, 11:35 PM
We snared another one guys. Yeeehaaa.

Welcome along.

RobS
07-23-2013, 11:38 PM
You can post what you want in the want to buy section once you have enough posts or have been a member long enough (30 days).