PDA

View Full Version : New Guy jumping in

Big Dipper
07-22-2013, 11:34 PM
Hello, i have been reading posts on the site for awhile. I am impressed with the knowledge and willingness of people to share information and help others coming along. I have zero bullet casting experience. I do not know how to navigate this site. I am an old guy with limited computer skills. I am a shooter and re loader for shotguns, rifle and some times handguns. I have recently inherited a pile if re loading, casting and gun parts. I have decided to start casting bullets. I am putting together a few things I need to start. I have a lyman melting pot and dipper on back order from Midway. I have most of the rest. I believe I want to cast bullets for my 222 rem mag however i'm thinking i will start with 30 cal for a 308 or maybe bullets for a 357 mag contender. I have cast fishing sinkers and decoy weights. Let me apologize in advance for the mistakes I will make trying learn how to use this site.

Thank you

Mk42gunner
07-22-2013, 11:54 PM
Welcome aboard. We were all at zero experience once upon a time.

I am a youngish old guy that still doesn't know much about computers, so don't worry. Do try to read the sticky subjects, I know there are a lot of them, but they will answer a lot of questions. Also read the posts and join in a few conversations.

I will say that the bigger and slower boolits (within reason) are easier to cast and get shooting acceptably; i.e. your .357 will probably be easier than the .308 or .222 Rem Mag to get accuracy and full power loads from.

Remember, be safe and have fun,

Robert

GaryN
07-23-2013, 12:40 AM
Welcome to the campfire. If I were you I would start on the 357 as stated above^^^.I guess I got lucky. I started casting just out of high school. I am now 58. Read all you can. Be safe. The more you read the more questions you will have. We like to answer them so ask away.

Tatume
07-23-2013, 06:52 AM