PDA

View Full Version : Stinkin' O Rings

possom813
07-20-2013, 06:05 AM
I haven't been able to sleep tonight, so I decided to size a few dozen and load up some .30-30.

I'm still relatively new to the RCBS LAM, I've only had it a few months and I certainly like it much better than alox.

However, I'm still learning about it's quirks, I added a stick of carnauba about two weeks ago, give or take, and haven't lubed 200 boolits with the new stick yet, and tonight, it stopped coating the boolits?

So, I pulled it apart, and lo and behold, one O ring was rolled up the 'depressor'(not sure what it's called), and the other one was split and all the lube was on top of the 'depressor'.

So yay, off to the hardware store tomorrow to find extras [smilie=b:

3006guns
07-20-2013, 06:25 AM
Sounds like your lube is too hard. You might have to heat the LAM in order to soften it and not "blow rings". A hair dryer blowing on the lube chamber for a few minutes will do the job, then repeat as necessary during lubing operations.

possom813
07-20-2013, 06:29 AM
The lube is actually pretty soft, just plain old white label carnauba red.

There's no telling how long these O rings have been in there, I got the LAM used from S&S and it had red lube in it, I ran that out, then added the carnauba and the rings were showing signs of being stretched a bit then.

It had to happen sooner or later. I'll put the new rings on and try it, and if they seem to wear out prematurely, I add some type of warmer to it to see if that helps.

I actually picked up a candle warmer thingy at a garage sale for a dollar, if needed, it shouldn't be too hard to get it attached to the LAM somehow.

groundsclown
07-20-2013, 09:59 AM
I use Whites CR also and always needed to heat it. Their BAC however is good to go without heat.

tomme boy
07-20-2013, 12:20 PM
You need heat for that lube.

WILCO
07-20-2013, 01:14 PM
I haven't been able to sleep tonight, so I decided to size a few dozen and load up some .30-30.