View Full Version : Last Post

Tom-ADC
07-08-2013, 11:36 AM
Taps as you have never heard before.
Caution may cause blurred vision.

http://www.flixxy.com/trumpet-solo-melissa-venema.htm

Rick Hodges
07-08-2013, 12:16 PM
I graduated from High School in 1966. After casting around for a decent instrumental tune to choose for a class song....my class, as Juniors in '65, voted for "Il Silencio". Most of us had never heard of it, and had no idea it was Taps.

It is still a haunting tune.

kbstenberg
07-08-2013, 12:24 PM
Beautiful

Bad Water Bill
07-08-2013, 12:47 PM
In 1953 I worked at a summer camp near St Germain Wi. Every night the camp went to sleep with Taps. Three of us spent many hours learning how to work old cavalry bugles. On the last night of camp we surprised everyone. 3 of us took canoes to distant parts of the lake and tooted. Sounded like the sound was echoing off every structure on the lake. Folks everywhere wanted the boss to do it more often . We left a week later.

I will never forget just what it sounded like.

We were not anywhere the caliber of this young lady but she triggered the memory.

Thanks for sharing and getting an OLD mans memories working again.

Now where is my Kleenex?

pdawg_shooter
07-08-2013, 01:24 PM
Taps is the saddest song ever written. Just ask anyone who ever served in the military.

Hardcast416taylor
07-08-2013, 01:25 PM
There is a trumpter in Wa state that has been playing "Taps" every night precisely at sundown for many years. It is said that the entire town literally stops everything to hear him play. Darned if I can figure out why grown men and women tear up when hearing those 24 notes, at least I know why I do.Robert

Hawkeye45
07-08-2013, 02:03 PM
I cannot listen to that haunting music anymore. It brings up too many flashbacks of VN. Since I will not be able to hear it, my will states taps is to be played twice, once for all those brave men and women who went before me and once for me.

Mr. Ed

Tom-ADC
07-08-2013, 02:09 PM