PDA

View Full Version : Pacific Dies

snoopy
07-06-2013, 06:38 AM
Picked up a set in 38/357 from a friend, since there were no instructions I'm not quite sure how to set them up. I'm new to reloading, so I have to read the instructions on my lee sets everytime I set up. Can I use the lee instructions to get in the ballpark, then adjust, or are there specific procedures for these. I could probably google it, but I'd rather ask. Thanks

richhodg66
07-06-2013, 08:24 AM
Those old Pacific Durachrome dies are good, I have several sets.

Dies all work basically the same way. Screw the sizer/deprimer die into your press with the presses ram extended to the top until the die makes firm contact with your shell holder. Set the lock ring on the die. Adjust the depriming stem down until the depriming pin extends far enough down to dislodge the primer when you run a case into it. Because these are old dies, I assume they are steel and not carbide, so you will have to lube cases or you WILL get a stuck case.

Next is your expander die and it won't have the powder through expander die like the Lee dies (A feature I like about Lee dies). Again, extend the ram to the top of the presses' stroke and screw the die in until it almost touches the shell holder, the screw the stem for the expander ball out almost all the way. Run a case in the die and while it is at the top of the stroke, screw the expander stem in until it makes contact with the case mouth. At that point, back the case out and screw the expander stem in about a half turn and then run the case in again. Remove the case and check how much the case mouth is belled. Repeat this as necessary until you have it belled enough to where the bullets you use will just begin to seat easily without shaving lead. Once you have it adjusted, set the lock rings on the die.