PDA

View Full Version : What luber sizer is best?

hotwheelz
09-30-2007, 03:15 PM
Im new to this forum so please excuse me if Im doing something wrong just point me in the right direction and Ill figure it out. I have been reloading and casting for about 5-6 years now and I love all of it.:castmine:

I have a lyman 450 and have been using it for about 2yrs and Im tired of the bottom o-ring blowing out and having to take it all apart clean it and reassemble.:mad:
I have looked at the rcbs, and the lyman 4500 and they both seem to have a solid bottom so i should have no problems with that oring but is there ant benefit to either? What about the lyman 45 I saw a couple on e-bay but I have never see one in person.

RayinNH
09-30-2007, 03:32 PM
hotwheelz, if your talking about the seal plug O-ring on the base, I've never blown one out . Sounds to me like your applying way too much pressure on the lube, or your using a lube that needs to be heated some to flow...Ray

P.S. welcome aboard

hotwheelz
09-30-2007, 03:40 PM
I am running a heater. When i first started that's what I thought to much pressure no it happens all the time not sure if maybe some thing wrong with the press I got at the gun show and I have been fighting it ever since. Im currently running some blue angle lube and after about 500+ rounds it starts to ooze out all around the bottom.

MT Gianni
09-30-2007, 03:50 PM
I had some leakage around mine and mounted it on a piece of rubber about 1/4" thick. It was an old conveyer type belt and it contained things inside the sizer. I also went to a lube that doesn't need heat. Gianni

montana_charlie
09-30-2007, 08:49 PM
Could you be running your lube too hot?

hotwheelz
09-30-2007, 09:11 PM