PDA

View Full Version : 9mm & 3N38

1-2-THE DOME
06-28-2013, 05:30 PM
Ok, I am a newb to casting, and I am working on a project to make affordable defense ammo, that i can practice with.

I am a 9mm guy. I really like my glocks, and enjoy shooting a lot. I am not a reloading newb I have been rolling my own with a lot of different calibers for about 15 years, but I always find that I want to make 9mm. I just have fun with it.

I have done a lot of testing and shooting with different bullets and powders over the years and have found that the performance of the Vit 3n37 is superb with 88-124 grain jacketed bullets, and 3n38 is phenomenal with 147's. The velocity numbers are off the chart, while pressure remains within the safety margin. Using jacketed 147 gr. bullets 3n38 will easily produce velocities in the 1120-1180 range without even being +P!! Yes, that is 9major at less that 35k psi!!

I started casting buckshot and slugs, and had good success. Then it hit me, I need to cast 147 gr 9mm slugs and save a bunch of money. My initial goal was to cast some 147's and load em with 3n38, and have cheap, devastating pistol ammo for any occasion.

This is where I learned that I know diddly squat about casting, and luckily found this site, and have spent a fair amount of time in the chatroom and reading the forums, trying to get educated.

My first batch of bullets were from an RCBS mold making TC 147's @ .356. I thought they would come out bigger, but they actually came out .356, and with a .357 barrel, you can only imagine the leading. Also I come to find out that I was running my casting pot so hot that any tin and antimony that was in my alloy was getting drossed out. I was basically running ww/lead 50/50 but I didn't actually weigh the amounts of each, as it didn't matter with my buckshot and slug casting.