PDA

View Full Version : hunting: hard cast or not?

171raven
06-24-2013, 09:30 PM
I am buying a .50 cal ML (traditions hawken rifle) and will be casting my own round balls and minie balls. What I want to know is for hunting purposes should i use hard cast? (I'm new to this so plz forgive any incorect termonalogy i have used) thank you for the help

mroliver77
06-24-2013, 09:32 PM
Nope, dead soft is the ticket. Amazing how hard they hit.
J

171raven
06-24-2013, 09:36 PM
thank you

nagantguy
06-24-2013, 10:40 PM
You have come to the right place, there is a lot of knowledge here. When I made a post similar to yours a while ago soft was the only response I got, it was the right one they shoot well and are easy to load. Welcome aboard.

waksupi
06-24-2013, 10:49 PM
Soft generally, although I carry wheel weight balls for larger game than deer. More penetration.

mooman76
06-24-2013, 10:51 PM
Soft will hold together better and spread more. You could get away with hard too but if you do your part but most everyone will tell you go with soft.

fouronesix
06-24-2013, 11:38 PM
Generally soft. However, with a heavy charge and at fairly close range (high velocity), a dead soft roundball can pancake and suffer poor penetration if it hits heavy bone. Of course it depends on the animal. For minies and solid base conicals they are usually a little slower and should be soft for good accuracy. Dead soft minies and conicals generally penetrate extremely well- to the point that you have to be careful not to hit animals standing behind because of the good chance of pass through.

idahoron
06-25-2013, 08:47 PM
I have tuned the hardness of my bullets. I take virgin lead at 5 BHN and bump it up to a high 6 or 7. On my Cabine Tree tester I target .038 for my 50 cal paper patched bullets. For my 45 I target .045 on the dial. When the paper patched 500 S&W bullet hits game it makes a lour WHOMP! The wound channel is about 1" diameter and I have never found one in an animal, even elk.