PDA

View Full Version : Idiot's guide?

junkpile
06-21-2013, 08:14 PM
I was thinking there was an "idiot's guide" to getting started casting. I've looked around the site, but can't locate it. I guess that makes me an idiot, so should be a perfect match:-).

I've been reloading for a few years. I use a rockchucker press. I reload 308, 357, 38sp, 45, 45acp, 9.3x62, and I'm trying to find a way to add 30/30 and 45-70 in there (they will be the shorter range replacement for the 2 current rifle rounds). I hope to also add a 6.5-284 and a 338 for extended range stuff. And, I digress...

I'm wanting to start casting for 357 and the 45's initially. What I want to know most is the best guess on choosing first molds. What kind of lubing should I use to start with? I was thinking about just starting with an old saucepan and a camp stove. I've got them laying around.

Anyway, looking for a simple method. I like doing things on my own whenever possible, just not a ridiculous amount of time. But I do have enough time for casting and shooting. What is a good mould and system to start with?

williamwaco
06-21-2013, 08:26 PM
There is no place I know of where there is more information than this site.

It is spread around though and you need to know what you are looking for.

If you want the condensed version you really need a good manual.

I recommend one or both of these:

http://www.amazon.com/Lyman-Cast-Bullet-Handbook-Edition/dp/B004DWBKQY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1371860698&sr=8-1&keywords=cast+bullets

http://www.amazon.com/Lyman-Pistol-Revolver-Handbook-Edition/dp/B000KKCZOE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1371860746&sr=8-1&keywords=lyman+revolver

If you can only afford one at a time, get the cast bullet manual first.

shadowcaster
06-21-2013, 09:21 PM

++1 It is only going to be as simple or as complicated as you make it. But.. I warn you. It's addicting! :)

Personally I have had very good success using the Lee molds and they are affordable.