PDA

View Full Version : Bullet line for a newbie - what do you use and why?

mookiie
06-17-2013, 01:29 PM
Bullet *lube for a newbie - what do you use and why?

I am really new to casting and have only lubed bullies with the Lee liquid Alox and I wanted to know what is your preferred line and why? Also do use different lubes for certain bullets or one lube for all? I should mention that I cast 500 40 S & W this weekend and have not, at this point, fired a cast bullet yet. Let me know what works and the best way to apply it.
Thanks!

popper
06-17-2013, 01:34 PM
Assume you haven't gotten lubrisizer yet, I suggest you look at the powder coat threads. It works.

mookiie
06-17-2013, 01:45 PM
Correct I have not, I am using the Lee lube sizer die kit. I was looking at a Lyman 4500, but I thought I would wait until I was sure it was necessary/my best option. I am not familiar with powder coating anyone have a good resource?

tg32-20
06-17-2013, 03:30 PM
Mookiie,

I think the easiest way to start out with lubes other than Alox is to go to 45-45 10 recluse, lots of instruction on here. But I must admit that I have not used it on 40 S&W.

Next would be to pan lube, also lots of information available here. I would just order lube from LsStuff.com (see bottom of page).
They are great to deal with and have lubes available for everything you would need it for. If you pan lube I would suggest 50/50 or BAC, it melts easily and sticks to the boolits real well.
There is also information on here regarding using a kake kutter tool that can be made very easily and really helps in removing the boolits from the lube in the pan once it cools.
You then just run them back through your sizer to clean them up or shoot them as cast.

Tom

popper
06-17-2013, 03:52 PM
3 threads in the lube section, different methods, all work. No lead, no smoke, accurate, sort of 'new school' but hey I'm 70. I've stopped the LLA & Recluse. Did I say fancy colors too?

badboyparamedic
06-17-2013, 04:14 PM
45/45/10