PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with pan lube

gmich
06-13-2013, 03:17 PM
First off, I am new to casting. Thought I was doing great, everything fell into place and with my two new Lee 6 bullet molds I started turning out really nice cast Boolits. Then I tried the pan lube and that's were it all comes apart. I viewed many videos and settled on a recipe that was 1 pound beeswax and 1 pound lithium white grease, I added in a heavy squirt of Lee Liquid Alox.
The first time I pan lubed everything went as it should except except when the time came to punch out the bullets (oops, Boolits) no wax was staying in the wax groove. My opinion of the wax was that it was more like modeling clay consistency. So I thought, okay, the guy gave the wrong proportions of wax to lithium grease. I then took all the wax and melted another pound of beeswax into it. It formed up much harder, more like a rick solid modeling clay though rather than like the original beeswax. You can play around with the finished product and mold the wax just like clay. Certainly thought it has the toughness I was looking for. So I repeated the pan lube process only to have the exact same thing happen. I push the boolits out (I tried both directions) and almost none of the wax stays in the wax groove. What am I doing wrong? Is the wax groove not deep enough on Lee molds? This is not the tumble style molds but the regular single wax groove 230 grain truncated cone for the .452, also get the same results with the Lee .357 6 bullet mold as well, so I think not on the idea of too shallow a groove. What can you guys suggest, maybe a pound of paraffin added in as well?
I just don't know what to do. i am dead certain the proportions mentioned in the video was a 1 to 1 of wax to grease and elsewhere I saw adding in a entire bottle of Alox, I only added in maybe a tablespoon, so I doubt that hurt anything, likely it would help the gripping once it set up. Help:(

BBQJOE
06-13-2013, 03:23 PM