PDA

View Full Version : Are these usable

dwb0804
06-13-2013, 02:18 PM
I am new to casting , these are some of my rejects, I am curious though if they are usable just for plinking. Regardless I will just melt them back down, I was just curious to here what people thought
Thanks Will

06-13-2013, 02:41 PM
Any wrinkly boolits are cause for me to reject them. Others will have different opinions.

Wrinkled bases should surely be rejected.

Wrinkled boolits are caused by a mould that is:
1. Not clean enough.
2. Not hot enough.
3. Both of the above.

Glock Junkie
06-13-2013, 02:45 PM
Wrinkles go back in the pot.

MtGun44
06-13-2013, 02:50 PM
You'll probably get OK results, but why acccept crummy looking, subpar boolits when it is easy to
remelt and do it right?

Bill

338RemUltraMag
06-13-2013, 02:52 PM
^^^This^^^

No need to shoot boolits that arent perfect, dont waste the alloy!

JonB_in_Glencoe
06-13-2013, 02:52 PM
If you've ever seen an example of gas cutting on a cast boolit, you'd probably reject any wrinkle on the boolit that starts at the base and runs parallel with the intended trajectory. That wrinkle will surely be a nice place for a gas cutting channel to start. Now if you get wrinkles on the nose that don't seem to in the barring surface of the boolit, you could surely shoot 'em up as pistol plinkers and probably be trouble free.

I attempt to reject ALL visable imperfections.
My 2¢
Jon

Dean D.
06-13-2013, 02:56 PM
JonB clearly stated my opinion as well. As others have said though, dropping them back into the pot and pouring more is my preferred method.

jimb16
06-13-2013, 03:14 PM
You can use them, but I would use them only for speed drills. You won't get good accuracy out of them and you could get leading caused by gas cutting. Personally, I usually toss them back into the pot.

BBQJOE
06-13-2013, 03:32 PM
I thought the same thing with my first batch.
Don't get attached to them until they are just right.

dwb0804
06-13-2013, 04:03 PM