PDA

View Full Version : S&W cylinder release not quite releasing

Airman Basic
06-13-2013, 10:26 AM
Have a model 19 that won't quite release the cylinder when opening. The crane is not loose, screwed in tight, and if I pull back on the cylinder when pressing the release, it comes out. Any clues as to a fix?

Airman Basic
06-13-2013, 12:07 PM
As I said the crane rod is tight, so that's not the problem, I don't think. Thanks, anyway.

KCSO
06-13-2013, 12:13 PM
Check to see if the rod is straight and check for burrs on the front of the rod.

Cactus Farmer
06-13-2013, 12:19 PM
The AF used to carry Combat Masterpieces. I was a 75350 Marksmanship instructor and worked on S&W's a lot. I'm 20 miles south of I20 myself and if you need any help with your issue,PM me and we will swap #s.

Larry Gibson
06-13-2013, 12:49 PM
If it used to open ok I would take the side plate off and clean it; possibly has debri inside not allowing the thumb latch to push all the way out.

Larry Gibson

44man
06-13-2013, 12:54 PM
Pulling back on the cylinder tells me the cylinder front bushing must be worn.
It is not a crane rod, it is the extractor rod that might have unscrewed. There is a center pin in it that pushes the locking bolt in the barrel lug to unlock the front. Check the pin for a burr. Make sure the locking bolt and spring is clean and lubed, it might be stuck.

Dan Cash
06-13-2013, 02:27 PM
One other thing to check is crud under the ejector star. It does not take much to prevent the cylinder from unlocking.

44man
06-13-2013, 02:37 PM
One other thing to check is crud under the ejector star. It does not take much to prevent the cylinder from unlocking.
Good call, a few gr of powder will do it.

Artful
06-13-2013, 03:09 PM
All good calls - I used a S&W 29 for Sillywett competition and had that problem
- the "Bolt", part that pushes forward on the "Center Pin" which frees the cylinder to swing out had actually stretched under use and had to be replaced.

44man
06-14-2013, 08:38 AM