PDA

View Full Version : recomend a SAA .357 magnum

Matt85
06-12-2013, 06:37 AM
as the title says ive decided to get a .357 single action revolver and im really liken the look of the Blackhawk 6.5" (the ability to use 9mm is a neat novelty as well). but im fairly new to the world of SAA revolvers so before I jump the gun and buy a Blackhawk I figured id ask you all what you thought. what .357 SAA revolver would you recommend? intend to shoot a lot of BP cartridges out of it so how well it handles fouling is important.

thanks
-Matt

Tatume
06-12-2013, 06:53 AM
Hi Matt,

The SAA (Single Action Army) is the model name of a Colt revolver.

By all means, get a Ruger Blackhawk! They are accurate and super strong. You can't go wrong.

Take care, Tom

Sasquatch-1
06-12-2013, 07:38 AM
You can't go wrong with a Blackhawk. Just one note. If you plan to get the .357 convertible, factory 9mm may not be very accurate through it due to the difference in size. Other then that, I have had one for many years and I am not disappointed with it.

Side note: used the auto save restore for the first time on this post and it works very nicely.

Jeff82
06-12-2013, 09:30 AM
I recommend the Blackhawk as well. I have the 6.5" 0.357. It's very accurate and a joy to shoot. I prefer it to the Security Sixes and S&Ws I've owned. It will do well with BP. I'd also invest in a set of grips. I found the factory grips to be a bit too narrow for me.

Silver Jack Hammer
06-12-2013, 09:44 AM
I've got Rugers and Colts. The Colts are much nicer handling however the Ruger sights are superior and of course the cost... The best of both worlds can be had in a Ruger 3 screw. If you like the 6 1/2" bbl you should be able to pick one up for less than $500.00. Make sure it has not been shipped back to the factory for the conversion.