PDA

View Full Version : Reccomended setup for someone who wants to load 9mm, 380 and 7.62x39

BobbyB
06-09-2013, 08:31 PM
I am a newb, just starting to consider getting into loading and casting so please forgive this question if it is very basic. I don't want to spend a ton but if I can spend 1-200 more and make my life much easier I am willing to do that. Can I get one press and swap out dies or turrets and load the three calibers I mentioned? What tools do you recommend? Thanks.

BobbyB
06-09-2013, 08:33 PM
Another question that is probably absurdly newbish I can't seem to find an answer to: does a turret press also size and lube a cast boolit, or do I need a different tool altogether for that? Thanks.

Bzcraig
06-09-2013, 08:54 PM
I am a newb, just starting to consider getting into loading and casting so please forgive this question if it is very basic. I don't want to spend a ton but if I can spend 1-200 more and make my life much easier I am willing to do that. Can I get one press and swap out dies or turrets and load the three calibers I mentioned? What tools do you recommend? Thanks.

Before you buy anything spend the next few months reading all you can about casting and reloading, including lots of time on this site, which is, bar none, the best site of its kind on the Internet, both the information it contains and the folks who provide it. Components are still hard to find so you won't be losing time reading. The short answer to your question is yes, with die changes you will be able to use one press for all three calibers. By reading you will be able to decide what equipment best fits your shooting and budget. Be sure to check out the Swapping & Selling forum for some sweet deals along with the vendors here. Welcome aboard!

No, a turret press will not lube & size a Boolit. Only a lubri sizer will do both at one time.

Randy C
06-09-2013, 08:56 PM
welcome aboard
YouTube watch http://ultimatereloader.com/2009/07/11/redding-t-7-loading-44-magnum-hd/