PDA

View Full Version : OOPS. Forgot to rinse dirt off my wheel weights before smelting.

creature
06-06-2013, 01:24 AM
In my haste i forgot to hose down a recent batch of wheel weights before i melted them down. Does dirt burn off when smelting? I fluxed the hell out of it and they seem to look as clean as my other ingots. I'm new to this game and just wanted your guys' opinion.

shadowcaster
06-06-2013, 01:33 AM
Washing any sort of lead before smelting is a bad idea. Lead is porous and will retain various amounts of water. You don't want the tinsel fairy showing up. All the dirt, grime, and junk will float to the top when fluxing. Flux well using sawdust. You will see some post that they flux with wax. Wax is a reducer not a flux.

Shad

creature
06-06-2013, 01:53 AM
I have been fluxing with ground walnut(the same used for tumbling lead) AND wax. So far it has been working okay but I really don't have anything else to compare with. Do you think this method is okay?

Thanks for the help sir!

btroj
06-06-2013, 06:58 AM
I don't ever wash lead before smelting.
The grunge floats. A good stirring helps get grit and stuff to the surface. A good fluxing helps too.

I wpuld use sawdust instead of the ground walnut, more surface area. A lot more.

cbrick
06-06-2013, 07:14 AM
I have never hosed off or rinsed or cleaned a single WW. Everything/anything on them will float once the lead is melted including the steel clips and the very last thing I want in the pot is water.

I too would switch to sawdust for fluxing. Adding wax won't hurt anything but it won't help much either. The wax is not a flux, it is a reducer for the tin but so is sawdust so what would be the point?

Rick

Lizard333
06-06-2013, 11:45 AM
When smelting I add a little wax to the pot with the clips and stir. I find I get more of the lead of of the clips this way. I then flux with sawdust.

RoGrrr
06-07-2013, 05:39 PM