PDA

View Full Version : Need help. Leading issue since 2004.

littlejack
06-04-2013, 11:34 PM
OK fellas and ladies.
I bought a Model 57 Smith & Wesson in 2004. In case any of you are not familiar with the model, it is a N frame .41 magnum. Kinda like Dirty Harry's 29, except the bullets got wet and shrank.
Anyway, it has leaded with all cast since the day I started shooting cast in it. The latest boolits I have been shooting are the NEI, SSK design boolit, weighing at 300 grains sized and wet. These boolits drop from the mold at .412+.
When I size them, they measure .411+. I drove six separate sized and lubed boolits through each chamber/throat,
and they swaged at .410+. Last week, I slugged the bore with two of the sized and lubed slugs. One all the way through, and out the forcing cone. The second, into the muzzle and below about .10, then pulled it out. They both read about .4085.
So why is this bore/groove leading badly?
My go to alloy is coww + 2%, or very close to it.
I have shot hundreds commercial 215 grain swc's. My go to boolit is the Lyman 220 grain 410459. I have shot
hundreds of the Lyman 240 grain rn. My lube is the 50/50 standard.
One would think, that with this tight of a bore, there would be no way it would lead up.
Any suggestions, opinions, experienced guesses, or SWAG's.
Jack

454PB
06-04-2013, 11:43 PM
Does "50/50 standard" mean Alox and beeswax?

You don't mention load info....what powders and weights?

Your throat and bore measurements look right, did you use a micrometer?

littlejack
06-05-2013, 12:08 AM
454:
Yes, the 50/50 is alox/beeswax.
My (used to) go to load for the commercial 215 swc's, and my 410459 swc cast for plinking, was 8 grains of Unique. Now, I have switched to 9 grains of Herco.
For a hunting load with the same Lyman 410459, my powder/charge is H-110 / 20 grains respectively.