PDA

View Full Version : Food for thought

Prospector Howard
06-04-2013, 06:25 PM
New here so hi all. Looks like a lot of good info here with like minded shooters. I've been reloading and casting for the better part of 40 years, swaging .223 bullets from spent .22 cases for about a dozen (I'm no expert but I've leaned a few things). The dies for .223 that I started with I made myself with the help of a machinist friend (reverse engineered from another friends dies). At the time I just wanted to see if I could do it. Nowadays it's really coming in handy for obvious reasons. About 3 years ago I bought a small metal lathe and ventured into other calibers. After reading quite a bit through the swaging section, one thing I didn't notice, was a good discussion on the importance of the derim die punch size, and making sure the top edge is slightly rounded (not sharp). This is one thing I've really paid attention to because of the safety factor. I've noticed that a majority of members that have commented, believe that in order to make good .223 bullets that the rim has to be ironed out completely flat. When I first started, I thought this was important too. After awhile I realized that it's just not the case. The punches I started with were just fat enough to iron the rim out flat, but every once in awhile I'd get a "push through". I'm sure others have experienced this also. I started thinking wow, what if I didn't punch through completely but weakened the base and had a slight tear that I didn't notice by having to put excessive pressure to push it through the derim die. What if it was weakened enough that I shot the base through with the core, leaving the jacket in the bore. That would be my biggest nightmare. I immediately made some new punches that were smaller diameter, and that made a huge difference; much easier to derim, I haven't had a "push through" since, it puts much less stress on my press. A thread back in December showed that a member actually did this. There