PDA

View Full Version : How clean do you get outdoor Range Lead?

kdiver58
06-02-2013, 06:38 PM
I'm just getting started in mining range lead. I've rinsed it some but it still has the Georgia clay red look to it. Do you clean it a lot of just let it come out in the melt?

lka
06-02-2013, 06:43 PM
I'm just getting started in mining range lead. I've rinsed it some but it still has the Georgia clay red look to it. Do you clean it a lot of just let it come out in the melt?

I just hose it down, let it dry and throw it in the big pot, look out for FMJs a Chisel and hammer will fix them real quick, but I have had them pop before if not cracked open so be careful.

Gtek
06-02-2013, 10:25 PM
I built a 2'x4' frame with 1/4 inch wire, spread out on and every couple days give it a good brass nozzle city water pressure wash. Sort as you load COLD pot removing J's for crack. Throw in pot, pot full of melt, saw dust, charcoal, stir, scrape sides and bottom, swirl, scrape sides and bottom, one more sawdust if not happy. Swirl and spoon nasty out of middle. Gtek

btroj
06-02-2013, 11:43 PM
As clean as it comes from the berm. I don't wash it at all. The dirt all floats and fluxing removes it quite nicely.

I don't want to make the lead any wetter than it is when I pick it up.

Sgtonory
06-02-2013, 11:47 PM
As clean as it comes from the berm. I don't wash it at all. The dirt all floats and fluxing removes it quite nicely.

I don't want to make the lead any wetter than it is when I pick it up.

Same here i dont clean it at all. Huge clumps of dirt and all.

btroj
06-03-2013, 07:11 AM
I don't usually have huge clumps of dirt. I try to collect most of it when the berm is dry to avoid most dirt. I just don't see a purpose in trying wash the dirt that clings to the bullets offer them. Wet lead takes far longer to melt.

trapper9260
06-03-2013, 07:21 AM