PDA

View Full Version : 7.5x55 Swiss, help a brother out

Goody3086
05-29-2013, 04:45 PM
OK, so I'm the new guy around here. I have spent several hours over the last couple of days trying to learn to load lead bullets for my K31. I have been loading for cowboy the last 15 years, recently added 45acp to that, load bp and smokeless shotgun. This resume is just my way of saying that I understand the basics of reloading, loading some 20-25 thousand per year.

I have ordered dies and shell holders for the 7.5x55, along with a 'M' die, but I'll be danged if I can figure out where to get suitable 150-165 grain gas checked bullets. Does anyone know of a commercial caster that can supply these? I noted in my research that the K31 has a very short lead, so spire points or deep seated bullets are the way to go. I have tried to follow several threads on here but I never can seem to find a source to purchase. I have never cast anything myself, and don't really have any inclination to do so. I suppose if I could find some plain base bullets that would be OK as well.

HELP!:lol:

Jeff Michel
05-29-2013, 05:01 PM
Lee 155 grain with 16 Grains of 2400. I don't know any commercial suppliers though............

madsenshooter
05-29-2013, 06:20 PM
Beartooth bullets makes a 135gr spirepoint the K31 might like, but wow, one could buy jacketed bullets for that much moola! Well, almost, guess it's been awhile since I bought any jacketed match bullets! Last buy was 1000 Noslers at 1980's pricing a couple years ago. Still banging away with those.

MtGun44
05-30-2013, 12:11 AM
The only one I have used is 311413 at moderate velocites, just a few groups and good
results.

Understand that the K31 has essentially zero throat, full depth rifling to about 1/8"from
end of chamber. The Swiss use a two diam bullet, about .299 ahead of the cannelure and
about .308 behind it. SIerra 168 or 174 MKs work but are seated pretty deep to
allow chambering.

Bill

swheeler
05-30-2013, 12:18 AM