PDA

View Full Version : Do Swage'ed 223 bullets strip the barrel?

Cag40Navy
05-27-2013, 06:45 PM
Howdy! A friend of mine brought up the point that because brass is "harder" than copper that the swage'd 22lr cases will strip his barrel... Is this the case? I am just wondering because he does make a point but im always up for making sure it does/doesn't. So whats the verdict wizards of the craft? Thank you!

Hickory
05-27-2013, 06:57 PM
Well, I've been making and shooting them for over 30 years, I have never found an issue with them "stripping a barrel" what ever that means.

clodhopper
05-27-2013, 07:07 PM
Most of what most people describe as copper jackets are guilding metal jackets. Guilding metal is an alloy of brass and zinc, around 95/5.
Brass is an alloy of copper and zinc, with a higher precentage of zinc.
Brass bullet jackets are much softer than steel barrels.

khmer6
05-27-2013, 07:26 PM
Even if it did "strip the barrel" the savings would easily out do a replacement barrel "eventually"

BT Sniper
05-27-2013, 07:32 PM
False! Shooting bullets made from brass cases affect the barrel no different then commercial guilding metal jackets in my experience.

As stated guilding metal is 95% copper and 5% zink. Brass jackets, to best of my knowledge, is 70% copper and 30% zink plus we anneal the brass jackets to make them soft enough to form into bullets.

I say shoot and swage on with either jacket!

BT

newcastter
05-28-2013, 09:12 AM
Completely false, I love how people with zero experience with something try to discourage others from swaging with total misinformation, Let me guess he started with " I heard" or :I read somewhere".

Utah Shooter
05-28-2013, 07:15 PM
Just stick to this sight for that kind of information.

I am not trying to get up on a high horse here but there is a reason why all of us are making projectiles out of these jackets. Ask yourself, would there be huge forums dedicated to it if it ruins all these barrels?