PDA

View Full Version : inexpensive brass cleaning device?

Matt85
05-27-2013, 05:59 AM
so im looking around at tumblers and sonic cleaners but im new to this game so im not really sure what would work for me. unfortunately im also running low on funds as all the equipment needed for loading has drained the wallet (and i still need a new bullet mold). i need something that will clean filthy 45-70 brass, i shoot BP cartridges and the brass gets very nasty. i don't need something big as id be cleaning small batches of around 50 cases at a time. can you please recommend something?

thank you
-matt

SteveUSP
05-27-2013, 06:27 AM
Try this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PF5B6DkxXH8. You probably already have one.

gunoil
05-27-2013, 10:54 AM
i made this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3_FpiTzVYP8

lemi-shine, dawn @ walmart. I use hot water and rinse with hot too. Lay on a towel in spare room, or 120 in oven if ya in a hurry, I always stay 700 to 1300 ahead for each cal

mdi
05-27-2013, 12:55 PM
Well, FWIW, I reloaded quite successfully for 12 years before I got a tumbler. I would just wipe the cases with a damp rag (mineral spirits) as I inspected it. No worn out dies, and I could spot any defects as I inspected the brass. If you want to make a tumbler google "home made ball mills" or "home made brass/case cleaners". Another method is using a plastic coffee can, some lemishine, a drop or two of dish soap, and hot water. Put all the stuff into the coffee can, about 3/4 full, and shake for a few minutes. Drain, rinse, and dry. Your brass will be pretty clean, mebbe shiny, and good for reloading.

The price has gone up on these Harbor Freight tumblers (I got mine for $29.00 a bunch of years ago) but still a good start. You can wet tumble or use a dry media like walnut shells.
http://www.harborfreight.com/catalogsearch/result?q=tumbler

dbosman
05-27-2013, 03:58 PM
We're cleaning brass in a cement mixer so I see whats happening.