PDA

View Full Version : Working on a new range

Gussy
09-18-2007, 03:53 PM
I have been wanting to get a bench and shooting range set up but most of my land is vertical. I have a temporary 100 yd range with no bench (pickup hood). I have been studying the place for 3 years trying to figure out how to get a 200 and 300 yard target.

Well sunday I got out the range finder and started walking. After about 10 trips through the brush around the hill I thought I might have a chance.

I got out the chain saw and started dropping the dredded hawthorn brush. If you haven't been around the stuff, it grows 30' plus high and has 1-1 1/2" thorns. The base of the trunk is usually full of suckers that pop the chain off the saw (and spear you at every chance). After 2 hours, I looked like I'd had a cat fight and lost. Both arms had a lot of scratches and several leaks. BUT, the big brush was mostly down. This is a better job for winter when I wear insulated, heavy coveralls to protect the body!!

I'm still not sure what I have, but it looks encouraging. I have to get the chain back on the saw and have another go at it. After that, I have to start the D4 and move some downed brush and clear out some small underbrush.

What it's looking like is I'll have a good 100 yd target and a 180-200 yd target. After that, it's the long trip but I can put a 300 yd target on the other side of the canyon. To get to it is a 1/4 mile up the canyon on my side and back down an old road on the other. No easy path straight through as it is very vertical.

More good news. After getting the brush down I can see a path to set up several gongs. I have 200 and 300 now but they will have to be moved. If it works out, I may be able to set up 400 and 500 yd gongs. It's going to be major work and will probably take a year to get it done.

Should have it done by the time I retire and have time to use it.

ktw
09-18-2007, 04:27 PM