PDA

View Full Version : Moon Clips

AZ-JIM
05-19-2013, 11:31 AM
I have shot a few pistol matches here recently and am having a blast. My problem is ( one of my problems anyway ) is my reloads are too slow, using standard twist lock speedloaders, which adds to my time unnecessarily. I think I am going to have my cylinder machined to accept moonclips. Now to the point of my post, I am looking to buy 1 moonclip if someone has one they can part with. I am a fabricator by trade and also a cheap SOB, $65 for ten moon clips seems high to me. I think for $65 worth of material I can make 60-70 of these things. And I have access to the tools to do it ( cad software and a laser ). Im not looking to steal anyones design or infringe on patents or put anyone out of business etc. Im just looking to not be separated from my money unnecessarily.
I am using a SW 586 in .357, so if someone can spare a moonclip send me a pm with what you have and what you want for it.

Thanks

az-jim

FWest
05-19-2013, 01:04 PM
http://www.revolversupply.com/documents/moon_clips.html

Not cheap but better than 10 for $65

Dale53
05-19-2013, 01:13 PM
I suggest you call Ranch Products by phone:
http://ranchproducts.com/

Their web site pretty much sucks but they are reliable and producers of excellent clips. I have only used their clips for .45 ACP (for my Smith 625's) but I believe I paid $35.00 a hundred delivered for their steel clips. I have not used their .38 clips. As I suggested, call them and see what they have to offer. They might save you a lot of aggravation trying to fabricate your own.

I ordered mine by phone (they primarily furnish clips to the trade).

FWIW
Dale53

W.R.Buchanan
05-19-2013, 02:36 PM
I'd try some of the ones from the above sources before I reinvent the wheel. 100 for $35 is .35 each. You can't even buy the material for that, and that's if you can figure out exactly what the material is in the first place.