PDA

View Full Version : Think you know your single shot guns?

MBTcustom
05-19-2013, 12:25 AM
Then please tell me what this is:
Please notice the radius on the front of the action.
Proof stamp gurus?
Its chambered in a 17 caliber improved something-or-other, and is missing the trigger guard and trigger(s?)

I am going to end up being the proud owner of this rifle (agreed to rebarrel and rework a Mannlicher Schonauer in trade for this).

Mk42gunner
05-19-2013, 12:32 AM
I get the dreaded red X for all the pictures, so I will try tomorrow.

Robert

bruce drake
05-19-2013, 12:54 AM
looks like a DeHaas action but I'm not a pro at identifying single-shots.

Mooseman
05-19-2013, 05:29 AM
After looking closer at the above pics and the blueprints I have I believe what I told you in chat is correct.
The safety, the trigger bar , and the lever design all closely match...

Rich

pietro
05-19-2013, 11:06 AM

The proofs look like they're possibly post-1952 German (Suhl) to me. (At least the stag/antler head is)

There were many small (real) gunmakers in that area, who made their own versions of popular actions from scratch - some of whom didn't mark them, some of whom did.

I would remove the wood and go over every bit of the hidden metal with a magnifying glass, searching for a maker's mark, in case whoever made that one did.

canyon-ghost
05-19-2013, 12:27 PM
Proof stamps bear a resemblence to Anshutz with the crown. My 22 match has crown,AB, and an elk rack for proof stamps. I just can't tell if the crown is the same, of course, the age of the rifle means the stamp could be slightly different.

I bet it's German.

Ballistics in Scotland
05-19-2013, 01:05 PM
7101771018I think the action is an Aydt, although it is a long time since I have seen one, and others may have built similar ones. The proof marks are German, and consistent with (I pick my words cunningly) black powder and a period much earlier than the 1950s.