PDA

View Full Version : Some questions on powders and load data

bangerjim
05-16-2013, 07:49 PM
OK..........there are a thousand types of poweders and a million receipes out there in the various manuals and lists.

I am wondering why some powders are listed for pistols AND shotshells loads (ie. Alliant American Select) and others are for 12ga only ( ie. Alliant e3).

I have in my stores Unique, Am Select, Bullseye, Winchester 231, and e3. I have done side-by-side burn tests (5cc scoop of each lit with a butane torch) and see virtutually no difference, other than the 231 is a slow lazy burning yellow flame. I know I am not a pyrotechnic-nitro-chemical engineer (although I AM a process instrumentation engineer!) but I feel we are missing out on something here by not using the more inexpensive and available (!) 12ga powders for pistol loads. I'm not talking competitive target shooting loads....just good ol' range plinking fun!

Since pistol powders like Unique and Bullseye are almost impossible to get these days, and 12ga powders are lining the shelves and are (relatively) cheeeep, why can't someone work up some load data cross-references for them! Sure would be nice.

Does anybody out there have any input to shine some light on this? Or know of a source of cross-ref data charts?

Good shootin! :lol:

Rolling Stone
05-16-2013, 08:10 PM
When I got close to being out of Unique and Bullseye, I started asking questions as well. I have settled on Red Dot since I found an 8lb jug. I am happy with it. YMMV
Rolling Stone

r1kk1
05-16-2013, 09:26 PM
i would email Alliant powder about load data. There is no load data for e3 concerning pistols.

take care

r1kk1

Mk42gunner
05-16-2013, 10:34 PM
Not trying to be a smart alec, but you won't be able to see the differences in burn rate by your open burning trial.