PDA

View Full Version : 38 special BP loads?

Matt85
05-16-2013, 03:09 AM
so ive got a pile of 38 special brass and my favorit little revolver a S&W snubby. ive been kicken around the idea of shooten some BP cartridges outa the lil gun. im brand new to reloading so this is just a thought, if its a bad one let me know.

has any one here used 38 special BP cartridges? what did you use? (bullet, powder, wad, primer)

thanks
-matt

Nobade
05-16-2013, 07:56 AM
Any more I use nothing but black powder in all my 38 spl. loads. Boolits are either the Biglube "Snakebite" or Ideal #358250 (IIRC. It is the original 38 spl. boolit) Tom @ Accurate makes a couple very good designs that are better but I don't have one yet. Powder is FFFg, either Swiss, KIK, or ho'made. Modern cases hold about 19.5 - 20 gr. No wad, any small pistol primer.

This weekend I ran 50 rounds through my S&W 642 and it still ran fine afterward. Powerful, accurate, and great fun. Makes the concealed carry handgun matches more entertaining at the range too.

-Nobade

Aje
05-16-2013, 08:11 AM
Hi Matt
I haven't done 38 special but have loaded both the 38 long colt & 357mag with black. I use a Lyman #358665 lubed with SPG a cci small pistol primer & as much fff as I can jam in there allowing for about 1/8" of compression. I don't bother with wads. Great fun really made the little 38lc sing.

Aje

StrawHat
05-17-2013, 07:03 AM
One time I used black powder under the 148 grain HBWC bullet in Stage One (12 shots, 25 seconds, 7 yards) of a PPC match. I made sure I was upwind of my fellow competitiors. Once they realized I had not blown up my revolver, they laughed and got back to shooting. funny thing, those that normally shot 120-12x, still got their score even through the smoke! Great group of guys and we always had fun at the matches.

Baja_Traveler
05-17-2013, 10:48 AM