PDA

View Full Version : Hello, all!

DAL357
09-13-2007, 03:01 PM
Although I'm a newbie here, I've known about this site for some time, and visited it more than once.

As I type this, I have my first attempt at smelting WW in the garage cooling in a 6-cavity muffin tin I picked up at Goodwill. I melted the WW on an old camping stove in a small Lodge iron pot. After skimming the lead for clips and garbage, I fluxed with some Frankford Arsenal stuff from Midway, skimmed some more, and poured the lead into the tin.

So far, so good.

Heck, I just remembered that I didn't spray any of that mould release stuff into the tin; I hope the lead's not stuck. Let me go check and I'll get back to you.
DAL357

DAL357
09-13-2007, 03:21 PM
Well, I flipped the tin, expecting the worst, but the cakes just fell right out!

This was just a quick experiment to try my hand at smelting, so I only have 8 pounds of lead to show for my efforts, but I'll smelt more in the near future.

Then again, since I have some useable lead now, maybe I should just get to casting a few bullets just to see how that works. Decisions, decisions.

I'm fairly anxious to get some bullets made to try in my Python, and to try out both the Lee bottom pour furnace and Lee TL bullet mould, but I guess that'll have to wait for a bit.

It's been nice talking to you.
DAL357

Lead melter
09-13-2007, 03:26 PM
Howdy,

I'm also a newborn at the sight, but thus far each and all seem friendly. I doubt you'll have any trouble with the lead sticking to the pan. This is the same method I've used for the last couple of years to mix my alloy into mini-muffin size for ease of melting. Looking forward to seeing your posts in the future.
Lead melter

"Ignorance is the parent of fear."-Herman Melville

fourarmed
09-13-2007, 03:27 PM
I guess you're using "tin" in the generic or British sense. A real tin-plated steel muffin pan solders itself to the ingots and sticks with the tenacity of a Christian holding five aces.