PDA

View Full Version : Brass tumbler recommendations

willy3
05-13-2013, 06:34 PM
I've been reloading for almost 50 years so I am hardly a novice but I would appreciate some advice from fellow reloaders. I have been using a Vibra-Shine Vortex tumbler for over 15 years with great results. About a year ago I came into possession of a variety of different calibers of brass and needed another tumbler for the convenience of being able to tumble more than one batch at a time. I'd seen the Frankford Arsenal EZ model tumbler at a reasonable price in different gun shops and decided to purchase one. Within about 4-5 months of moderate use (less than the Vortex model) the EZ tumbler just stopped working.. The damn thing just sat there and hummed and sputtered. As it was still under warranty, I contacted the manufacturer and they cordially replaced it with a new unit. The new one didn't last as long as the first one and died a quick death. Even if the nice people at Frankford replace this one I am less than enthusiastic about the EZ. In researching tumblers on the internet, I can't find any brand that gets rave reviews regardless of price. I only wish that Vibra-Shine still made the Vortex but that won't happen. Has any of my brothers had exceptional service from any particular brand/model??

James6406
05-13-2013, 06:42 PM
I use a Lyman turbo (orange container) with the crushed walnut media. Have been using the same one since 1984 with no problems. Looking up the most current similar model I see the Lyman Turbo Twin which sells in the $70 to $80 range. It looks like it is about twice the price of the Frankford but is built to last.

Skirmisher
05-13-2013, 06:45 PM
Make sure you get one with a life time warranty. I use a Hornady. They've replaced mine twice (over 35 years of hard use). The only cost was shipping to them. They are electro-mechanical devices and will cease to function one day.

Hip's Ax
05-13-2013, 06:51 PM