PDA

View Full Version : Another Trapdoor question

Ammohouse
09-12-2007, 02:01 PM
Hi all, I'm a noob here.
Here's my question.
My buddy has finally been bitten by the BP bug and has acquired a Trapdoor...I'm pretty sure its original.
Anyway, he wants me to load for it.
I've been loading BP for my Sharps (also load smokeless for my Marlins) for a few years now, do you think my Sharps loads would be safe in his Trapdoor? I don't think it would be a problem...but I've never loaded for the Trapdoor. I know its not as strong as the Sharps is. I don't mind loading something different for him, but it would work out nice if it will shoot the same loads. Please help me out, he wants to shoot this weekend.
My Sharps load:
68grn of 2F w/495 Spitzer bullet

fourarmed
09-12-2007, 02:12 PM
If the TD is in good shape, with no cracks around the hinge, it will work fine with that load. It is the rifle for which that load was invented.

SharpsShooter
09-12-2007, 05:16 PM
Yes that load is safe and would work fine for testing. Remember TD bore dimensions were not strictly controlled and the bullet diamer you use may not shoot well in your Buddys TD. TD's tend to run on the largish side and often require .461 and even larger to perform to their optimum level. Slug the bore and it will tell you what it will need.

Welcome to the board!...hang around.....we will treat you so many different ways, you will have to like one of em:-D

SS

NickSS
09-12-2007, 08:12 PM