PDA

View Full Version : smelting range lead

krallstar
04-28-2013, 05:30 PM
Hey all, spent some time this weekend smelting range lead. This is my first time doing this. Ended up with 125lbs of ingots. Here's my question, the lead came from our indoor range. We use angled steel plates as the stop. There is also a rubber type curtain to minimizer splash back. I ended up with these lead logs they form up under the steel stop. After awhile they drop down and i take them home. So first time smelting, using a coleman stove to melt. Put chunks of these logs in to melt. So after they melt down i get very few jackets but what i did get was this kinda dirt that floated and seemed very dry. I scooped it out and pored my ingots. Does that dirt stuff seem like what i should have been seeing.

BLACKTALON
04-28-2013, 06:18 PM
Absolutely,
That is called dross. you can get more dross to come out of the lead by adding a small chunk of paraffin wax and stirring into the mix. the wax will melt and ignite so be ready for that. as you stir you will see more of the dross come to the surface. skim this off and dispose of properly. you should then have a very silvery liquid gold.

krallstar
04-28-2013, 06:46 PM
Yup, using wax to flux. Just wanted to make sure i am doing this right and not ruining my lead. Now when i melt these ingots in my lee melting pot i still do a flux correct. And if i keep the pot filled any stuff that's left will sit on the top. won't be casting for about a month till my anniversary comes up. Got a Lee 4 20 waiting to be opened. Also how do i dispose of this dross.

BLACKTALON
04-30-2013, 12:58 AM
I flux when I smelt into ingots and I will flux again before I cast into bullets. You wont ruin your lead as long as you keep zinc out of it. As far as disposing of the dross, that's tricky as it is lead and an environmental hazard. I take mine back to the range and dispose of it with the lead that will be mined and sent to the recovery service. Let them worry about it.