PDA

View Full Version : Adventures of a Old Newbie with a 1859 Sharps

Engineer_Scott
04-26-2013, 10:36 AM
I've enjoyed shooting and Civil War history since I was a kid. Owning a Civil War (replica) rifle for shooting has been on my list for years. This year I finally decided to make it happen. I have no previous experience with black powder, Sharps rifles, or bullet casting. What could possibly go wrong? :-) I learned much by reading posts here before I "jump in". So, in the odd chance that someone else is out there with similar interests, I thought I would share my experiences here. At least it will give the more experienced a good chuckle.

Engineer_Scott
04-26-2013, 12:02 PM
Early in 2013 I started looking for a Sharps 1859 military rifle. The thought of shooting the rifle used by the 1st and 2nd US Sharpshooter Regiments during the Civil War, casting bullets, making paper cartridges, etc. appealed to me. I started by getting online and reading any reviews, trouble reports, etc I could find. Based on what I read, Shiloh Sharps in Montana makes one of the best quality military Sharps available. When I spoke with them I found that it would be 1-2 years before I could expect to get a rifle from them. That was too long of a wait. I may still get one someday, but I did not want to wait that long to get started.
I later found Taylor and Co. They are a distributor of Italian made Pedersoli and Chiappa (Armi Sport) replica Sharps. Based on more reading it appeared that Pedersoli has a reputation for better quality compared to Armi Sport. Next I talked with the people at Taylor and Co. They told me that Pedersoli makes a good rifle and that Armi Sport quality had been improving over time. I told them what I wanted to do with the rifle and they said an Armi Sport should do the job. So, I ordered one.