PDA

View Full Version : weight of cast boolits not consistent....??????

kevmc
04-25-2013, 09:36 PM
Having some issues with consistent weight of cast boolits.......

Lyman 429421-250K 4 cav.
Alloy is 50/50 Lyman #2 and PB
cast at 700* (thermometer), mold preheated on hotplate.
Most all boolits look good, nicely filled out..no wrinkles....not frosted....round... .4315 dia.
Visually, most all look good, but weight varies from 246 to 253....this from the middle of the pot (Lee 10# bottom pour)

They do seem to shoot well....and I know " if it ain't broke don't fix it........"
BUT, I'd like to see more consistent weights, ..(I'm somewhat anal retentive about such things!)
I'm new to casting boolits, trying to use same technique each time.

Tips for more consistency?????

detox
04-25-2013, 09:51 PM
If pot or mould temperature varies alot, weights will change.

detox
04-25-2013, 10:00 PM
Single cavity mould will be more consistant.

A sharp sprue plate cutter helps cut sprue even with boollit base.

Ladle pouring is very consistant IF you have good technigue.

650 - 675 pot temp should work

kevmc
04-25-2013, 10:02 PM
I left the thermometer in the pot while casting...temp stayed pretty well from 680-710*......
mold temp??? I preheated the mold, poured 10 molds, then kept the next 10 pours to check weight with....
technique?? I'm opening the bottom pour fully, trying to put stream directly into cavity thru sprue hole.....

Sort by cavity to see if they match....???

kevmc
04-25-2013, 10:06 PM
I'll try 650-675* tomorrow......
Maybe make a run of all one cavity to see if I can narrow down the issue, see if all cavities are same size.

rintinglen
04-25-2013, 10:12 PM