PDA

View Full Version : Sized bullets wrong size

jacked_72
04-25-2013, 09:21 AM
Hi,

I'm new to reloading, though I've been around it for the last 20 years or so with family members. I've got a Lee mold which is casting bullets to .311. I want to resize them to .309, so I bought a lube and resizing kit for that diameter. It was sizing bullets to .307, too small to be effective for my barrel. I contacted Lee and they had me send the new die back to them and they "reworked" it and now it sizes between .307-.3075. I'm getting this reading on two different calipers, one dial and one digital, across a number of resized bullets. I'm measuring the resized bullets on the shiny parts that have been resized by the die. Am I doing something wrong? I can't believe that both calipers are off by the same amount. I also can't believe that Lee "fixed" it to the wrong size. In fact, the measurements that I get are the same as before they fixed it. (There was a note from someone saying that they had mic'ed the bullet they ran through it and that it was .309, but on both of my calipers, its .307-.3075.

I'm looking for suggestions. I've got another email into Lee, but I don't relish the idea of losing the die again for two weeks.

tward
04-25-2013, 09:57 AM
Welcome to casting! I am about where you are 40 yrs reloading, only casting for a couple of years, I've found that calipers are not sufficient for Boolit measurement, try a micrometer. Calipers are fine for OAL but use mic for Boolits. Good luck and good casting! Tim

RickinTN
04-25-2013, 10:16 AM
If you have some jacketed bullets take a measurement from some of them and compare. A micrometer would be best, but comparing your measurements from a factory jacketed bullet of known diameter will at least give you an idea of your calipers' accuracy.

BK7saum
04-25-2013, 10:21 AM