PDA

View Full Version : New board member, and smelting newbie with some questions.

9w1911
04-25-2013, 12:42 AM
I am new to the casting game but had purchased some supplies to do so years ago. i brought them out and began to cast some stuff to get the hang of it. The alloy I had was from Roto and I cast 100 44 mag bullets that I later threw back in the pot, however they were shiny. The ingots remaining were all frosty and hard to scratch or bend etc.
So here are the questions:
Can you separate an alloy with too much heat?
Can an expert tell an alloy make up by sight?
Because I smelt some pure soft roofing lead and it is all shiny. I have not changed my casting or smelting technique, I drop all boolits in water and I cool my ingot mold with water and even quench my ingots. Right now I am smelting this lead, knuckle like thing.
Smelted a solid bar this weekend and added 1lb ingot of the frosted stuff to the large lead 2x4 and got this dense, hard frosted ingots in return, it was all frosted and hard as hell to bend.
Should I mix the frosted with the shiny when I cast again?

Thank you

cbrick
04-25-2013, 07:16 AM
The alloy I had was from Roto

What alloy did you buy? They have many different alloys.

I cast 100 44 mag bullets that I later threw back in the pot, however they were shiny. The ingots remaining were all frosty and hard to scratch or bend etc.

Shiny or frosty is nothing more than how hot they were when cast.

So here are the questions:
Can you separate an alloy with too much heat?

No, but too hot will oxidize the alloy at the surface in contact with air much quicker.

Can an expert tell an alloy make up by sight?

No, there is no way to do this.

Because I smelt some pure soft roofing lead and it is all shiny. I have not changed my casting or smelting technique, I drop all boolits in water and I cool my ingot mold with water and even quench my ingots. Right now I am smelting this lead, knuckle like thing.