PDA

View Full Version : Books to get, help?

cooterdog
04-22-2013, 12:38 PM
So I bit the bullet and bought a Shiloh Sharps 45-70. Now I plan on using Black Powder in it. I have lots of muzzle loader knowledge, I own a very early addition Hatfield. What I need to know, are there any good books on reloading black powder cartridge? I have a bunch of Paul A Matthews on order, but there must be others worth mentioning and getting.

Don McDowell
04-22-2013, 12:45 PM
To be quite honest and straightforward, there really are no books that are needed.
To load the 45-70 with blackpowder all one needs to do is dump 70 grs of 2f into a Remington case primed with your favored brand of large rifle primer. Compress the powder to let a 480-500 gr bullet sized to .458 lubed with any decent bp lube,sit on top of a .030 fiber wad seat to the driving band, no more crimp than is necessary than to remove the flare in the case mouth.
All in all done..

cooterdog
04-22-2013, 12:51 PM
To be quite honest and straightforward, there really are no books that are needed.
To load the 45-70 with blackpowder all one needs to do is dump 70 grs of 2f into a Remington case primed with your favored brand of large rifle primer. Compress the powder to let a 480-500 gr bullet sized to .458 lubed with any decent bp lube,sit on top of a .030 fiber wad seat to the driving band, no more crimp than is necessary than to remove the flare in the case mouth.
All in all done..

I do agree Don,
But should I want to shoot other weights like 405 or use light loads with filler and stuff. I would like more insight. Books help sometimes.

country gent
04-22-2013, 01:00 PM
SPG has a manual by Mike Venturo and Steve Garb that gives data and instructions. Randolph Wrights Loading and shooting Paper Patched bullets is good gives you hows and also why. Paul Matthews has several Books out. Mike Venturo has several also. Ask questions here also, Alot of good information to be had for the asking.

cooterdog
04-22-2013, 01:04 PM