PDA

View Full Version : Help! What am I doing wrong.

Velosa
04-21-2013, 09:42 PM
Hi all.

I'm new to casting, and have run into a little trouble. I have an old Winchester 1885 chambered in 32 Ideal, and it has a slightly oversized bore. Long story short, I had to have a custom mold made by Mountain Molds (aluminum), to cast a 150 grain, .328 cast boolit. I've got a Lee Pro 20lb pot and I'm using wheel weights. The first time I tried casting, I used a ladle and hand poured the boolits despite the bottom pour feature on the Lee pot. That first time out, I cast 100 perfect boolits, and the rifle shoots them wonderfully. This must have been beginners luck, because the past 3 times I've tried casting, the boolits look like this:

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x294/velosareeser/IMG_0012_zps71a54e35.jpg (http://s184.photobucket.com/user/velosareeser/media/IMG_0012_zps71a54e35.jpg.html)

I've tried hand pouring, using the bottom pour feature. I've tried casting at different temperatures. I've tried hot, medium, and cold temps on my mold. I've tried to duplicate exactly what I did before. In summary, I've tried everything that I can think of and I always get the same result.

Can anyone take a look at the boolit and diagnose the problem.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Andy

supv26
04-21-2013, 09:44 PM
Cold mold!! Get your mold a lot hotter and they'll "iron" out.

Velosa
04-21-2013, 09:47 PM
Any advise on how best to get the mold a lot hotter. I've just been sitting it on the rim of the pot.

littlejack
04-21-2013, 09:56 PM
Velosa:
Welcome to the CastBolits.
I warm my molds up on the kitchen stove burner element. Just set them on the element while your lead is melting. Medium setting will be fine. This will solve your problem. If you still have wrinkles, you may want to turn the heat up on your lead.
Regards
Jack

Velosa
04-21-2013, 09:59 PM
Thanks LittleJack. Is it also OK to dip the entire mold down into the lead?

docone31
04-21-2013, 10:03 PM