PDA

View Full Version : 2.5% Ag anyone?

BNE
04-14-2013, 12:02 AM
Hi, I am a total newbie to casting. I have reloaded since 1999, but I have just started casting. THIS IS SOOOOOO fun!! I'm hunting for lead everywhere I can scrounge it. I have a small supply of 97.5% Pb and 2.5% Ag. I only have 1.5#s now, and I expect to collect ~10#s a year. Obviously not a huge supply, but it is FREE and I'm not willing to pass it by.

Should I just treat it as "soft"?

runfiverun
04-14-2013, 12:27 AM
it won't be soft, silver is a hardening agent in lead.
that is what lazer cast uses.

khmer6
04-14-2013, 01:27 AM
For a moment there I thought it was a typo on how much lead lol. Good score, but free lead is always good lead. Possibly cut it with something softer to stretch your supply?

BNE
04-14-2013, 06:52 PM
Thanks folks. I will just hold on to it until I can get a hardness tester. I get the alloy in the form of ~.100" wire. It "feels" very soft, but I know this is relative. Again, thanks for the input. This forum has saved me tons of mistakes.

williamwaco
04-14-2013, 07:41 PM
Hi, I am a total newbie to casting. I have reloaded since 1999, but I have just started casting. THIS IS SOOOOOO fun!! I'm hunting for lead everywhere I can scrounge it. I have a small supply of 97.5% Pb and 2.5% Ag. I only have 1.5#s now, and I expect to collect ~10#s a year. Obviously not a huge supply, but it is FREE and I'm not willing to pass it by.

Should I just treat it as "soft"?

If this stuff is 2.5% silver and you can collect 10 pounds of it, that would be around $100 worth of silver.
I don't know if you can sell it that way but I would sure try before I make bullets from it.

bjeffv
04-15-2013, 03:19 PM
2.5% silver is a lot, especially if you are getting it for free. Are you sure its 2.5% silver? As mentioned in a pound that would be about .4 ounces, worth around 12 bucks.