PDA

View Full Version : A little dissapointed...

IllinoisCoyoteHunter
04-13-2013, 12:02 AM
So I am brand new to swaging. I have a set of old corbin dies I acquired in an estate sale I have been dying to try out. I finally acquired my last bit of material I needed tonight, thanks to Utah Shooter (thanks again for the lead wire :) ). So I have both RCE 22 cal jackets I ordered and some rimfire jackets too. I decided to start with the commercial jackets. I weight them to figure out how heavy my cores need to be. Check. I cut the wire a couple grains over my target weight and swage them. Check. Go to seat my core in the commercial jacket and it is a no-go. So I measured the swaged core and it is right at .202". The jacket also will not fit into the core seat die (too wide by a thou or two.) So I grab a rimfire jacket and the core goes in about half to 3/4 with moderate pressure and abruptly stops, with just a bit still hanging out of the jacket. So I finished seating it just inside the jacket with a smaller diamter punch. Then I switched back to the core seat punch and fully seat the core. OK, check. Then I go to point form, knowing that my core is most likely a bit too light because my initial calulations were based on the commercial jacket, which is heavier. I am this far into it so I go ahead and form the point. It turns out ok.

So I go back, up my core size a bit, and repeat the above process. This time I get a bullet that looks great. I am stoked. Throw the micrometer on it and it comes out right on .223" all the way around. :veryconfu

Anyone ever shoot .223" bullets in...well....a .223?? Obviously commercial manufacturers swage them to .224" (most do as far as I know, which isn't much).

There were two point form dies with this set. One looks like a standard 6s ogive and one is far more blunt (I think it is for lighter 22 hornet bullets). Both measure .223".

Back in the day were most 22 cals swaged at .223 and were thinner jackets used?

Thanks!