PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations for a good micrometer?

gareth96
04-12-2013, 01:47 PM
Anyone have a recommendation on a good micrometer? Looking to spend $50-$100 on one. I saw Lyman/RCBS both have one but wonder about the quality? Would like one with the ratchet action.. 1" is fine, and would rather not go digital.

bosterr
04-12-2013, 02:13 PM
I have an RCBS and it works great.

ffries61
04-12-2013, 02:23 PM
Not sure who makes either of those, but here's an 0-1 with ratchet, and .0001" scale from Amazon for 64.40$, it's Mitutoyo brand, pretty good quality, Starrett or Brown & Sharp are the best quality, but new you probably won't find one under 100$ retail. I'm a machinist of over 30 years and have a number of Mitutoyo mikes and calipers.

Fred

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B001OBTI3Y/ref=biss_dp_t_asn

gareth96
04-12-2013, 04:21 PM
Wow.. thanks Fred, that one looks like a winner..

MtGun44
04-12-2013, 06:09 PM
Enco Tools online has a good one, Fowler brand, 0.0001", recommended by a tool and die maker
friend, usually available for under $40.

Bill

uscra112
04-12-2013, 07:00 PM
Fowlers are good. Buy a older used one on evilBay and it's likely to be Swiss made.

cwheel
04-12-2013, 07:17 PM