PDA

View Full Version : New to Reloading - question about OAL and crimping Boolets

mmesa005
04-08-2013, 11:26 PM
Hello All,

I am new to reloading and still waiting for my equipment to be delivered. I started by reading several loading books (Hornady, Lyman) as well as this on-line book on cast boolits http://www.lasc.us/ArticlesFryxell.htm

I am unclear about setting the OAL and crimping of cast boolits as unlike plated / jacketed bullets, cast boolits have grooves for lubrication and crimping? So say for a .45acp jacketed bullet using X grains of Bullseye powder, the OAL is 2.65, what do I do if a plated bullet has a lubrication groove and not a crimp groove with the bullet set at that length?

rmatchell
04-08-2013, 11:30 PM
Welcome to the group.

Just use a taper crimp and have fun shooting them. Also take some pride in making and loading your own boolits. It get fun from here on out.

mmesa005
04-08-2013, 11:38 PM
rmatchell,

I appreciate the quick reply! I am still unclear about crimping if after setting the OAL there is a lube groove where the crimp would go? Also, why do cast boolits have crimp grooves?

Thanks!

rmatchell
04-08-2013, 11:45 PM
I'm sure somebody will step in here and say for sure, but I have always thought they were more for helping keep the boolit crimped with heavy recoil. For 45acp I load Lyman 452374 and 452460 both of which don't have a crimp groove I just load them to fit my chamber or mag.

jblee10
04-08-2013, 11:53 PM
If you are using a cast boolit designed for the 45 ACP it will not have a crimp groove or a lube groove at the mouth of the case when set to the correct AOL. Also, the rimless auto pistol cartridges (45 ACP) headspace off of the mouth of the case, so they should only be taper crimped. Your 45 ACP dies should do this.
I commend you for reading what you can. Keep it up and it will come to you. Congratulations!

rmatchell
04-08-2013, 11:59 PM