PDA

View Full Version : My first smelt trial!

khmer6
04-07-2013, 11:19 PM
Tried out my set up to see if it would work. Propane tank, tuekry fryer, Dutch oven from amazon, and slotted spoon from dollar store. Worked out nicely, I probably need more molds to rotate, after the third pour I was tired and the ingots were taking longer to solidify. How do you guys ensure you are scooping out the ONLY clips from COWW and not any lead? Seems like there was a significant amount of sludge and lead when scooping. Or was that just dross? If not I might try to remelt just the stuff scooped out. At least the lead looks very shiny and filled out very well :Dhttp://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/04/08/gesyseta.jpg

Woody3
04-07-2013, 11:45 PM
I'm no expert on smelting but I've found that when I flux real well, my clips come out with very little on them.

As for ingots, I use a ton of the stainless steel muffin cups from Walmart. They cool quick and are easy to use.

Woody

khmer6
04-08-2013, 12:16 AM
Oh.... I scooped then I fluxed. Was it suppose to be the other way around? Always read so many different angles, like some people say they don't even use anything to flux that the dirt and grime from COWW is so nasty it flux itself lol

jcameron996
04-08-2013, 04:03 AM
I always flux with ample amounts of sawdust and stir with a large wooden stick. The clips can then be skimmed off with nearly no lead loss.

Wal'
04-08-2013, 07:28 AM
I scoop all the rubbish & sludge out first then flux with sawdust & scrape both the bottom & sides of the pot with a steel spoon or scraper.
Its surprising how much more sludge ? will still come up from the bottom of your pot when given a good scrap.
When the lead is clean I drop a piece of candle in for a final flux/clean...........works for me.:-D
Scooping out only the dross & sludge & not your lead will be an art you'll acquire with practice.....all comes down to the angle of your spoon :roll: & allowing the molten lead to drain back into your pot. :veryconfu