PDA

View Full Version : can a newbie turn galvanized pipe on a lathe? I want to make a patch punch.

Whiterabbit
04-04-2013, 02:39 PM
Hi guys,

I want to make a hammer operated patch punch for my flintlock. I plan to sharpen a piece of pipe, either EMT or galvanized iron pipe. I can sharpen the EMT very very easy, but nt sure it can hold up to repeated bashings via hammer. I know the gavanized will hold, but dont know if its easy to turn on a lathe.

You should know I am a very very amateur machinist and can only turn (at this time) "easy to machine" metals (aluminum, brass, and only simple operations on very clean steel). I assume galvy can be sharpened on the lathe, but is it an easy material to work with? can I just hacksaw off the threaded section then face and sharpen with HSS cutters in a fairly straightworward way?

drhall762
04-04-2013, 02:46 PM
The galvanizing is just a zinc coating on the pipe. Just set up the chuck to hold it, use a bullnose on the tailstock if you don't have the spindle bore for the pipe and adjust you speeds and feeds accordingly. Use, say, 50SF and you should be good.

joesig
04-04-2013, 03:18 PM
EMT surely won't survive bashing. Pipe with a sacrificial fitting on top and a lead hammer may last a little longer.

Any chance of using it and a press?

As in hold the pipe in the chuck and use a piece of hardwood in the tailstock and use the feed to punch the patches or a similar pipe/wood setup in a drill press?

Whiterabbit
04-04-2013, 03:59 PM
Can't chuck 1.5" pipe in my mill, an my drill press is a joke. It's a serious transgression on my part to not own a fine drill press yet.

I could drill the galvanized pipe end cap and put a bolt in it, but that would hardly be centered, or centered enough if I wanted to SPIN while pressing.

I could probably do so just for simple vertical pushing but I assume a drill press or mill was not made for pressure applications like, say, an arbor press is.